the gift

gift.jpg

There are several different publications of Lewis Hyde’s 1979 book The Gift, and they all have different subtitles. The above version is the one I am reading, with the subtitle “Creativity and the Artist in the Modern World.” The 1983 version reads “Imagination and the Erotic Life of Property” and another recent publication reads “How the Creative Spirit Transforms the World.” I read rave reviews of this book, and bought it thinking it would open me up to this whole new way of looking at creativity. Well I’m halfway through and I am not enlightened. So far, I have read 175 pages of an anthropological look at ancient gift culture. I’m hoping it’s going to eventually tie into art and creativity in a profound way that will effect me deeply. But I can tell you, without those subtitles, I probably wouldn’t still be reading…

Leave a Reply

