samantha lamb

First of all, I wanted to do a proper entry regarding Samantha Lamb. And I have a funny story about my own stupidity.

So I found Sam’s work through a blog or flickr a while back, maybe a year and a half ago, maybe more. Then we got hooked up as partners for a craft swap. I made her a crazy beach towel, she made me a pirate ship in a jar.

Then, months later I get an email from Sam saying she will be exhibiting in NY! So I write an entry about it on the Free People blog to get all the crafty beauty lovers to attend. Obviously, I plan on attending myself.

Sam lets me know she is in NY all week and we end up going to a concert, going out to dinner, and getting tipsy on sparkling water. I leave her telling her I’ll see her at her opening, I can’t wait to go, etc. Then I send an email to my friends to get everyone to come to her show. I’m excited.

So I show up on Saturday night with a group of friends, all ready for a fabulous opening party. We ring the bell to get into the building, and Sam answers herself. She said nobody else was there and wasn’t sure if she should let us in. What?! I glance at the flier on the door. The opening was on FRIDAY! I’m such a dummy.

But we went up and had a private viewing. The presentation was beautiful with all of her photos framed in salvaged wood, and handwritten titles next to each piece, some poetry, some thread spools in shadow boxes. I bought the above print for my sister.

Leave a Reply

